top of page



Welcome to the Alice L. Pendleton Library. We are so happy you are here and are excited to share with you all the educational and entertainment resources at the library.

Explore the website and then visit us!

Melissa & Richard

Library Director: Melissa Olson

Assistant: Richard Coombs

Click box for a history of the library. 


Alice L. Pendleton


The Library building was initiated by the enthusiasm and hard work of Alice Lavinia Pendleton of Islesboro and Brooklyn. 


Islesboro’s first librarian, Alice started lobbying for a properly-sized library facility in 1905, fund raising began in 1912, and doors opened on January 14, 1918.

Miss Alice continued as the librarian until 1915 and thereafter served as the assistant librarian every summer until her death in 1951.

Our Building

Since its opening on January 14, 1918, the beautiful granite and brick building became the town’s cultural center under the guidance of Miss Alice, and every Saturday afternoon in the summertime a “sociable” was held with programs: performances by children costumed as early island settlers, historical essays or quizzes, wild flower or bird contests, poetry, hobby or antique afternoons; and speakers, including monologist Ruth Draper. 



August 25, 2018 marked the Centennial Celebration of the Alice L. Pendleton Library building. 

More than 100 visitors turned back the clock to mark the celebration.  The day featured photo displays capturing events from bygone years, tea and sandwiches served by a costumed lady from from authentic silver tea service, and a presentation of Miss Alice's very words from early in the century.

Remembrance Garden

The Remembrance Garden beside the Library is Islesboro's only public garden — a peaceful place where individuals and groups have contributed memorials to honor friends and relatives.

Please stop by and enjoy the plants, bulbs, bird baths, benches, birdhouses and arbor.

Librarians of the Alice L. Pendleton Library

Alice L. Pendleton 1902-1915
Mildred L. Pendleton 1916
Meda Mae Dodge 1917-1920
M. Helen Pendleton 1921
Marion Kimball 1922-1923
Lena Williams 1924
Marion Kimball 1925-1959
Ethelind Palmer 1960-1968
Teri Bates 1968-1970
Elizabeth Anderson 1970
Jean Littlefield 1970
Blenda Reeby 1970-1971
Susan Schnur 1971-1974
Louise Mackenzie 1975-1994
Linda Graf 1994 - 2019
Melissa Olson 2019 - present
bottom of page